*HUGS* TOTAL! give vanoonoo more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own
read this TOO v's virtual vacuum

Monday, Dec. 29, 2003

butt nugget

so monica picked me up from the airport and we got to chat the whole way home about her mom and her sister and all my junk and catch up on all sorts of stuff and I think it was great cos it was jsut to two of us for the longest time catching up on all the gossip. things have not been great in her life for quite some time - there are ups obviously, but also a lot of downs and I admire her for sticking with some of this crap and making good.

When we got to the house she went in and asked the kids to get some stuff off the front seat of the car, you see they had no idea I was coming to visit and monica had told them she'd been called in to work which is why she was leaving them on a saturday evening (when she came to collect me). So the kids come wandering down the drive and open the gate and jordan opens the car door and jumps and says "hello?" like he's answering the phone and megs stands there open mouthed and I say "hello" and they both scream 'vaaaaaaaaaaan' and I got to have big hugs from the both of them. It's been over two years since I visited with them at their house, and over 18 months since I holidayed with the in california so they are both pretty different looking now. Meg is as tall as her mom already and jordan has teeth again which is quite something. They are both so different to look at since I first met them in 1999 but they still have the brilliant, funny, smart, lovely personalities that I fell in love with all those years ago. they helped me to change my mind about kids to a certain degree, they are generally not brats but hysterically good company.

So we all bundled into the house with my luggage, kids shouting, dogs barking (bess the westie and wallace the scottie) and monica's husband looking relieved not to have to play neomania, or whatever it's called, for a third time.

After the ceremonial unpacking of the suitcases we settled down for a catch up and some alcohol which was much welcome. Damn american airlines have started charging for booze in economy class! Mind you I was so dosed up on meds there is no way I could have drunk anything and remained awake to complete my journey.

By the time we had chilled out and gotten out all our immediate conversation it was time to hit the hay and I got to sleep in megs purple palace bedroom where she has a new futon bed which is surprisingly comfortable.

We were all up pretty early on sunday morning cos the dogs were being dorks so we got dressed and went to walfart to get a few essentials then came home, collapsed on the sofa and watched the green bay fudge packers beat the denver doo doo heads at american football, which I still don't understand. Oh and we all got really drunk and went to bed at 7.30pm hahahahahahah!

Woke up at 5.30am this morning and was desperate to take meds for this damn lurgie that I have, but I feel much better today so that's a relief.

Monica got off work early today so we went on base to get some stuff for new years eve and then headed to a japanese store in town and then to hastings for some dvds and stuff that the kids wanted to spend their christmas money on. I popped into goodwill to see if they had and bowling bags cos claire wants one but they didn't have any - but there was a large number of breadmaking machines. Odd.

Got back home vegged out on the sofa and had a snooze and they played whoopee cushion volleyball with jordan for a while whilst monica got dinner sorted (smothered burritos oh yeah!), then we got the message that her mother is even more sick than usual and is gonna be admitted to hospital for checks - they think she has congestive heart failure but need to find out which sort and stuff.

so now we wait.

anyways. It's rude to sit and type up my diary so I am gonna head back to the living room and tease the kids or something equally amusing. More soon.

and my toes

a brief run down.

do not covet wordly goods

jobbing

twats